Scottish Geology Talks

The Lockdown Lectures / Scottish Geology talks series ran between March 2020 and March 2021, with 113 talks from Angus and guest speakers. We are now taking a break, but we’ll be back with more introductory Scottish Geology talks in the autumn.

Recordings of many of the talks are available below. The recordings are passcode protected: check your confirmation email for the code, or you can purchase a ticket here.

Any questions, please don’t hesitate to get in touch – email me at angus@geowalks.co.uk.

Recordings

Recordings are passcode protected: check your confirmation email for the code, or purchase a ticket here.

Monday 7 December 2020 – Arran’s Explosive Volcano, with Dr Bob Gooday – click here to access the talk recording

Tuesday 15 December 2020 – A virtual field trip to South East Mull, with James Westland – click here to access the talk recording

Thursday 17 December 2020 – Christmas Coprolites, with Dr Katie Strang – click here to access the talk recording

Monday 28 December 2020 – Scotland’s fossil collectors, with Dr Katie Strang – click here to access the talk recording

Wednesday 30 December 2020 – Pebble beaches and what they tell us about Scotland’s geology (Angus Miller) – click here to access the talk recording

Monday 4 January 2021 – Iapetus No More: the continental collision that shaped Scotland (Angus Miller) – click here to access the talk recording

Monday 4 January 2021 – Scotland’s Volcanoes (Angus Miller) – click here to access the talk recording

Tuesday 12 January 2021 – Volcanic history of Mull, with James Westlandclick here to access the talk recording

Monday 18 January 2021 – Evidence of Snowball Earth, with David Websterclick here to access the talk recording

Monday 25 January, 2021 – Midland Valley: Cradle of Enlightenment (Angus Miller)click here to access the talk recording

Thursday 28 January, 2021 – Journey along the Moine Thrust (Angus Miller) click here to access the talk recording

Thursday 4 February, 2021 – Invertebrates of Fife, with Dr Katie Strangclick here to access the talk recording

Monday 8 February, 2021 – James Hutton: life and rocks, with Gregory Todd – click here to access the talk recording

Thursday 18 February, 2021 – The wild Borders coast – Siccar Point to St Abb’s (Angus Miller) click here to access the talk recording

Monday 22 February, 2021 – Iceland: A journey through the land of ‘ice and fire’ with Dr Robert Askew click here to access the talk recording

Tuesday 2 March, 2021 – Mull: A Walk on the Wild Side, with James Westlandclick here to access the talk recording

Thursday 4 March, 2021 – Geology of the Northern Isles (Angus Miller) click here to access the talk recording

Tuesday 16 March, 2021 – Mull: virtual field trip from Lochbuie to Carsaig, with James Westlandclick here to access the talk recording

Thursday 18 March, 2021 – A walk across East Lothian (Angus Miller)click here to access the talk recording

Monday 22nd March, 2021 – Scotland on the Move (Angus Miller) – click here to access the talk recording

Tuesday 30th March, 2021 – “Mull Rocks” – why is Mull’s geology so special? with James Westlandclick here to access the talk recording

Wednesday 31st March 2021 – Eruption! Live from Iceland with Kate Gallagher and Robert Askewclick here to access the talk recording